|Florida No Fault Insurance - what you need to know.
Florida Auto Plus Insurance Agency - Florida's trusted auto insurance professionals.
Family Owned Insurance & Florida Independent Agents
Florida Auto Plus Insurance Agency
"Welcome, thanks for calling" - Wally
Click now to quote yourself anytime!
Call or click for a quote today!
Great companies, Great coverage!
Florida No Fault auto insurance prescribes the minimum car insurance requirements for vehicle owners. Budget
constraints force many policyholders to reduce or eliminate coverage options to a minimum. Insurance companies
automatically file electronic reports to the state indicating polices that are not active. Driver licenses, tags and
hassles by calling 1-877-WIZ-AUTO. Shopping for Florida Car Insurance? We're here to make life a little
easier. We provide maximum service with our minimum coverage car insurance polices. Everyone deserves
individual and thorough attention when shopping for car insurance no matter what the size of the policy premium
Is Florida a no fault state for auto insurance? Yes!
Individuals that are injured in automobile accidents in No-Fault states are compensated by their own insurance
company and injured parties are compensated quickly and efficiently. On January 1, 1972 Florida became the
second state to adopt a No-Fault automobile insurance plan. Proponents of this system believe; 1. Compensation is
provided to victims quicker than in a tort system 2. The cost of insurance would be lower. Both of these benefits (in
theory) are realized primarily by a reduction in litigation. At this time twelve states, including Florida, have some type
of No-Fault statute.
Florida No Fault Auto Insurance Facts for Minimum Requirements
The Florida No Fault Law has set the minimum car insurance requirements in this sate since 1971. The mandate
requires vehicle owners to maintain a Personal Injury Protection (PIP) and Property Damage Liability (PD) policy for
all their registered vehicles. The insurance must be maintained throughout the registration period.
In Florida, the required coverage limit for PIP is $10,000. The insurance pays, regardless of fault, for 80% medical
expenses, 60% lost wages, and $5,000 in funeral expenses. Covered persons are the policyholder and other listed
drivers. The required limit for PD is $10,000 and is a benefit that pays for another persons property, such as their
car, if you are at fault in an accident.
Vehicle owners must show proof of insurance at each registration interval. Proof must be carried at all times while
driving the car. Insurance companies are required to notify the DMV when a policy is canceled or not renewed.
Failure to comply will result in driver license and vehicle registration being cancelled. Fees for a Florida license
reinstatement due to no car insurance range from $150 to $500.
Florida is the only No-Fault state without a Bodily Injury Liability (BI) coverage requirement. Many insurance
companies will not issue a policy limited to PIP/PD unless BI is also purchased. Your auto insurance policy must be
placed by a licensed Florida agent with an insurance company licensed to sell policies in Florida. Policyholders can
not cancel their policy in the first 60 days unless other insurance is acquired or the vehicle registration is
Florida Auto Insurance Law Frequently asked questions:
Q). Is automobile insurance mandatory to register a vehicle in Florida?
A). Yes. Any four wheel motor vehicle must maintain minimum mandatory insurance coverage of $10,000 Personal
Injury Protection (PIP) and $10,000 Property Damage Liability (PDL) as long as your vehicle is registered.
Q). Can I keep my insurance policy from my previous state if I move to Florida?
A). No. Your auto insurance policy must be placed by a licensed Florida agent with an insurance company licensed
to sell policies in Florida.
Q). What happens if a policy is not kept in force on my registered vehicle?
A). Your driver license and vehicle registration may be canceled for up to three years or until proof of the required
insurance is obtained.
Q). Must a policy be maintained on a vehicle that is not being used?
A). Yes. Any vehicle with a Florida tag and registration must have insurance coverage even if the vehicle is not being
Q). How can I avoid a suspension on a vehicle I own that is not insured?
A). Surrender the tag and registration prior to cancelling your insurance policy.
Q). Can a company cancel my policy after I have been accepted for insurance?
A). After an insurance policy has been in effect for 60 days the company may cancel the policy only under these
circumstances: non-payment of premium with ten days written notice, material misrepresentation or fraud with 45
day written notice, the driver license of the insured or operator is suspended or revoked during the policy period
or 180 days prior to the policy effective date.
Q). Can I cancel my insurance policy within the first 60 days?
A). An insurance policy cannot be cancelled by the insured within the first 60 days unless: the vehicle is declared a
“total loss”, the insured no longer owns the vehicle, replacement coverage is obtained and proof is provided to
the first company.
Q). Does the deductible apply if I have comprehensive coverage and my windshield is cracked?
A). If the policy was issued in Florida the law states: “If a policyholder has a deductible for this coverage, it will be
waived in the event the front windshield is cracked or broken and needs replacing."
Q). How long does an insurance company have to notify me if they are going to renew my policy?
A). An insurance company must provide 30 days advanced written notice to the policyholder of the renewal premium.
Q). How long does an insurance company have before they must issue a policy I applied for?
A). The insurance company has 60 days to complete their underwriting and issue a policy. If the policyholder does
not qualify due to company’s underwriting guidelines then 45 days prior written notice to the insured is required.
Florida No Fault insurance related articles and websites
Florida No Fault Facts for the Bare Minimum
The Florida Motor Vehicle No Fault law is the statue that prescribes minimum mandatory car insurance coverage. I f
your simply looking for a quote with what is required and absolutely nothing else then here are the facts you need to
PIP Options to Lower Quotes
PIP…Personal Injury Protection…is part of your Florida policy whether or not you want the coverage. However, there
are some choices you can make to reduce coverage and lower cost. Learn about the options to find out which
selections will best suit you.
Florida Auto Insurance Glossary