With over 104 million Americans traveling during the holiday season (AAA online statistics), it is extremely important we understand some issues regarding DUI driving. Driving under the influence is illegal in every state including the district of Columbia and Puerto Rico. Engaging in this unlawful activity can lead to car accidents, injuries and major legal complications to include possible jail time and hefty fines.
We often come across DUI checkpoints which are set up by law enforcement to catch DUI drivers in every State. The popular app “WAZE” does not show DUI checkpoints on their app and communicating the details of checkpoints on your social media app may be a crime in some states as it is preventing law enforcement from effectively checking drivers.
The legal limit of alcohol allowed in your system while operating a motor vehicle is 0.08. This number is your “BAC”, or “Blood Alcohol Content”. Generally speaking, one drink is defined as 12 ounces of beer, 4 ounces of wine, or one standard mixed drink, and will increase your BAC to approximately 0.05. It takes about 1 hour for your BAC to return to zero after having a drink. The best thing you can do to prevent getting a DUI is to have a plan. A designated driver is the best bet however taxis and UBER or LYFT work just as well. Remember, safety is paramount.
In addition to possible accidents and jail time, DUI’s will result in your car insurance premiums going up as well. An “FR44 State Filing” associated with your car insurance policy will be required of you in order to operate your motor vehicle. In Florida these policies must be kept for a compliance period of 3 years and have higher limits than a standard policy. They are non-cancellable (Must be replaced immediately.) and only a very limited amount of companies will accept payment plans.
If you are suspected of driving under the influence, there are different methods law enforcement officers can use to determine if this is true. These are called “Field Sobriety Tests”. The standard Field Sobriety test is the breathalyzer and is considered to be enough evidence for a conviction. If a breathalyzer is not present or is malfunctioning, other tests can be used such as walking in a straight line, eye movement tests, and following verbal commands. Usually, all of these methods combined are used to charge a driver of DUI, as being carted off to jail is extremely serious. Once put in jail for a DUI, you may have to wait several days before you see a judge and bond is set for your case.
Other substances can lead to arrests as well. Substances such as marijuana, cocaine, opiates and hallucinogens are illegal and will result in a DWI (Driving While Intoxicated) charge If convicted of using them while operating a vehicle. Remember, mind altering chemicals can result in poor judgement and it is dangerous to operate heavy machinery including motor vehicles while using them. The best thing you can do for yourself, your family, and your community is to operate your vehicle under safe conditions and never use drugs or alcohol before getting behind the wheel.
Here at Florida Auto Plus Insurance, we understand a mistake can happen to anybody. Perhaps you had one strong drink and your BAC was slightly over the legal limit resulting in a DUI charge. When you are ready to reinstate your license, we have all of your insurance needs under one roof. We specialize in Florida FR44 insurance and do not judge our clients. Please call me (Cliff Schimek) today for a fast-free rate quote @ (305)-278-1388.